The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black

$17.49 $24.99
Write a review
"Disturbingly lovely . . . The Resurrectionist is itself a cabinet of curiosities, stitching history and mythology and sideshow into an altogether different creature. Deliciously macabre and beautifully grotesque."--Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus

This macabre tale--part dark fantasy, part Gray's Anatomy--tells the chilling story of a man driven mad by his search for the truth, with hypnotic and horrifying images.

 

Philadelphia, the late 1870s. A city of gas lamps, cobblestone streets, and horse-drawn carriages--and home to the controversial surgeon Dr. Spencer Black. The son of a grave robber, young Dr. Black studies at Philadelphia's esteemed Academy of Medicine, where he develops an unconventional hypothesis: that the mythological beasts of legend and lore--including mermaids, minotaurs, and satyrs--were in fact humanity's evolutionary ancestors. And beyond that, he wonders: what if there was a way for humanity to reach the fuller potential these ancestors implied?

 

The Resurrectionist offers two extraordinary books in one. The first part is a fictional biography of Dr. Spencer Black, from his childhood spent exhuming corpses through his medical training, his travels with carnivals, his cruel and crazed experiments, and, finally, his mysterious disappearance. The second part is Black's magnum opus: The Codex Extinct Animalia, a Gray's Anatomy for mythological beasts, all rendered in meticulously detailed anatomical illustrations.

Reviews:

Named as Part of Bustle's Scariest Book in Your State for Pennsylvania.

 

"Disturbingly lovely . . . The Resurrectionist is itself a cabinet of curiosities, stitching history and mythology and sideshow into an altogether different creature. Deliciously macabre and beautifully grotesque."--Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus

"Color us captivated. This collection seems a treat for anatomy enthusiasts and creaturephiles alike."-- io9

 

"E.B. Hudspeth's The Resurrectionist is PFA (that's pretty freaking amazing)."-- ComicsBeat.com

 

"These detailed and fantastical drawings will intrigue any reader curious about the hypothetical anatomy of mythical creatures such as mermaids, minotaurs, and harpies. In the context of the story that precedes them, they prompt disquieting thoughts about the extreme lengths to which the fictional Dr. Black may have been willing to go to prove his assumptions, and what--or who--may have served as his models."-- ForeWord Reviews

"A bit of Charles Darwin and a bit of P.T. Barnum."-- Inked Magazine

"Doctors Moreau and Frankenstein should make room for a new member of their league of extraordinarily grotesque gentlemen, for there is a new mad scientist in pop culture."--Aaron Sagers, MTV Geek

 

"The vivid imagery unveiled becomes the dark fantasy response to Gray's Anatomy."-- Filter Magazine

 

"The book is a welcome addition to any library of dark fantasy, with its beautiful portraiture and gripping description of a man's descent into perversity."-- Publishers Weekly, "Pick of the Week"

"A masterful mash-up of Edgar Allan Poe and Jorge Luis Borges, with the added allure of gorgeous, demonically detailed drawings. I've never seen anything quite like The Resurrectionist, and I doubt that I will ever forget it."--Chase Novak, author of Breed

 

"Fans of Neil Gaiman, Hieronymus Bosch, and the Mütter Museum are sure to love [ The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black] and the rest will certainly be both astounded and intrigued by what you find inside!"-- The Garden Island

Author: Hudspeth, E B

Publish Date: May 21, 2013

Binding: Hardcover

Physical Info: 1.0" H x 10.6" L x 7.9" W (1.8 lbs) 192 pages

Author Bio: Diana Rajchel began her career planning to serve as clergy and write about all subjects spiritual. It did not occur to her or anyone else to say with what agency she might assume priesthood. The result of this oversight in intention setting is that she is now an itinerant city priestess, well-practiced witch, and somewhat unintentional subversive. Her background includes Wicca, folk witchcraft, conjure, and a whole lot of experience organizing people that don't like knowing that they're organized. Diana splits her time between San Francisco, California, where she co-owns Golden Apple Metaphysical, and southwestern Michigan, where she runs Earth and Sun spiritual coaching with her partner. In between her wanderings she teaches as part of the Magick 101 series for Wicked Grounds Annex in San Francisco, and teaches and reads tarot at Elements Kalamazoo in Michigan. Diana has 25 years' experience as a professional tarot reader and western herbalist and has 29 years' experience as a professional writer. She is also the pet DragonCat to a very ladylike boxer named Nora.

Table of Contents:

Contents
Series Introduction . . . 1
Old Ways . . . 13
New Ways . . . 45
Spells and Divination . . . 77
Recipes and Crafts . . . 105
Prayers and Invocations . . . 147
Rituals of Celebration . . . 177
Correspondences for Samhain . . . 211
Further Reading . . . 225
Bibliography . . . 229
Index . . . 239

 

Flat rate shipping of $5 on all United States orders.

You can choose carrier-based shipping at checkout if you prefer. If you chose to pay for your own shipping you will calculate this at checkout. Shipping is calculated by the weight of your total order via standard shipping rates from our provided carriers.

Orders containing products we stock in-house (these are the majority of our products) will be pack and shipped on Tuesdays and Thursdays.

Some products are printed at the time of order (mostly clothing and some home accessories) and have  3-10 business days processing time (may be longer around major holidays), while they are being made especially for you!

If your order is a combination of both custom and regularly stocked times, your order may ship in more than 1 package.

You will receive an email confirmation and tracking information when each part of your order ships.

We understand that shipping is very important to our customers, as it is to us anytime we are consumers. We strive to bring you the easiest, most cost-effective shipping possible. We also completely understand that sometimes shipping can be confusing, as such, if you have any questions feel free to contact us at support@seidora.com or on our Contact page.

At this time we are only shipping to the US. We hope to be shipping outside of the US very soon, so keep checking back!

We are currently using USPS and UPS as our shipping carriers. If there is one you would prefer us to add please contact us at support@seidora.com and we will do our best to accommodate you.

If you require a faster form of shipping than the ones supplied to you via our Shipping Estimator, please contact us by adding a note into your cart, or at support@seidora.com with your order number, and we will generate a shipping quote for you.

After placing your order you can track your shipment from our Tracking Page via the footer menu or your Account Page. You will also be emailed updates on your shipping progress as they happen as well as a tracking number.

Please Note: Seidora is not responsible for lost or stolen packages once the shipment has been delivered. At that point (when the carrier's tracking states the package has been delivered), there is little to nothing we can do on our end. It is suggested that you contact your local police department if you suspect theft or your local post office if you suspect the package was delivered to the wrong address.

Ethical sourcing is extremely important to us, and we want to remain as transparent as we can to how we source our products.

Animal Remains:

The majority of our animal products come from trusted US or Canadian based taxidermists who source their products from ranches, farms, as byproducts from other industries (where the remains would otherwise be discarded), and from their own private taxidermist businesses.

We do, however, carry a few products, from time-to-time, that are imported from overseas. We use a trusted importer that has been in business since the 1970s.

Seidora honors every animal, or insect (even the botanicals for that matter), product we carry by treating them with the utmost care and respect the entire time they are with us. We feel good about the fact that instead of these pieces being discarded, they can now go to a good home, where they will be cherished.

The hard truth about ethical sourcing is that there are no official standards, certifications, or laws in place to help verify the validity of ethical sourcing claims. As hard as we try to make sure that the businesses we work with are indeed ethical, we can not guarantee, beyond a doubt, that everything we have purchased was ethically sourced. This is why we do not use the words "ethically sourced" on our site.

If you have any questions or would like more information, feel free to contact us at support@seidora.com.

Most of our Wardrobe and some of our Hearth items are made especially for you after placing your order. These products can take anywhere from 2-6 business days off peak and 9-12 business days on peak. Peak times center around holidays but can vary. Please allow enough time for production and shipping when ordering these products.

  • Valentines Day - February 14th

  • St Patrick's Day - March 17th

  • Easter - End of March

  • Mother's Day - May around the 3rd weekend

  • Father's Day -  June around the 3rd weekend

  • 4th of July - July 4th

  • Back to School -College Sports August thru middle of September

  • Halloween - October 31st

  • Thanksgiving - November 25th

  • Yule/Christmas/New Years  December 25th & January 1st

You may also like

Recently viewed